Splinters: 20th Century Hungarian Works for Piano

Artist: Mariann Marczi
Release Date: November 05, 2013

Pianist Mariann Marczi performs a very personal programme of 20th century works from her native Hungary, featuring pieces that form two pillars at either ends of the last century, grouped between 1907 and 1918 (Bartók and Kodály) and from 1976 to 1989 (Ligeti, Kurtág, László Lajtha, Zoltán Jeney and Gyula Csapó).

Like pylons, these two blocks of compositional styles and techniques are linked by a hidden and complex network of bridges – arpeggios that at times imitate the sounds of the harp, dulcimer or far-away bells, a strong French influence, be it biographical, musical and frequent references to francophone poetry, and a common tendency towards the transcendental. Marczi has worked together with all of the living composers on her disc, and authoritatively carries out their intentions, while bringing to light the subtle nuances across the interesting and varied landscape of last century’s Hungarian music.



Purchase on Amazon

Purchase on iTunes